Turkey Meatballs: Part 2 – Turkey Meatball Lettuce Wraps

Happy Sunday! And welcome back to my 4-part turkey meatball series. Hopefully you have read part 1 of the series about my basic turkey meatball. I talked about the healthiness of it, the easiness of making it, and how delicious it is with pops of onion, garlic, and oregano in every bite. It’s a great basic staple to make on the weekends that allows for easy assembly of different dishes all week.

Depending on the size of your family, double, triple, or quadruple the basic turkey meatball recipe accordingly. It may seem like a lot, but you’ll want these to last you all week. My basic recipe alone is good enough for one: me. But if I’m preparing lunches and dinners for Clinton, too (which I always am), I double the recipe. Like I’ve mentioned before, I have a few go-to recipes to incorporate these goodies all week. Let’s get started with my first one: Turkey Meatball Lettuce Wraps.

The beauty of this is that it leaves you completely satisfied without feeling heavy – if you’ve ever eaten a giant meatball sub you know what I’m talking about.

Instead of throwing meatballs on a bun and slathering them with marinara sauce (which you could certainly do once in awhile for a splurge), I have opted for a healthier alternative.

**Side note: I hope that after reading my blog for awhile, you don’t think “healthy” means “tasteless.” Healthy can be quite tasty. So when I say healthy, I mean that you’re getting all the nutritional value needed to keep you running at your highest level. Cooking healthily just leaves the door open for creativity with spices and textures; I promise that my healthier alternatives won’t leave you craving more.

Since the meatballs themselves have so much flavor, I don’t feel inclined to add fat- and calorie-laden toppings. I’ve substituted the buns for lettuce wraps, which is not only much healthier than a bun but also adds great texture, too. And instead of marinara sauce, I just slice up a fresh tomato. Easy enough, right? Here are the specifics:

What you’ll need (makes 2 servings):
10 turkey meatballs (4 for me, 6 for Clinton)
Head of iceberg lettuce
2 medium vine-ripened tomatoes

What you’ll need to do:

Since your meatballs are already cooked, heat them up for 1 minute in the microwave. Don’t worry about drying them out, they’re already incredibly juicy and can stand reheating.

Carefully peel off a few outer layers of your lettuce. I like iceberg best because it makes great wraps (see my Italian Turkey Burger recipe for another use), but you can also use romaine if you have it. Set 4 large lettuce leaves on your plates for your foundation, 2 on each plate.

Slice your tomatoes in half, remove the stem (as shown here), and thinly slice.

Pile the 2-3 turkey meatballs and half of each tomato onto one lettuce leaf so that you have 2 turkey meatball lettuce wraps on each plate (I find that the lettuce leaves hold better when I split each serving in half). And enjoy!

In less than 5 minutes you have a healthy, delicious dish perfect for any weekday night. Serve with any steamable veggie you already have in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

